Eucalypts of STEP

Forest 20 differs from other forests at the National Arboretum Canberra. 16 species of Eucalyptus typical of the forests and woodlands of the Southern Tablelands region of New South Wales (including the Australian Capital Territory) have been planted.

The trees on Forest 20 are arranged in bands that represent an approximation to their landscape position in the Southern Tablelands. Dry forest species are grouped on the higher parts, open woodland species are in the middle and species found in areas that receive cold air drainage are located in the lowest area. Species found in wetter, montane locations are planted in the central area, which receives the most run-off from other parts of the local catchment.

The 16 species planted are:

Eucalyptus albensWhite Box
Eucalyptus blakelyiBlakely’s Red Gum
Eucalyptus bridgesianaApple Box
Eucalyptus dalrympleanaMountain Gum
Eucalyptus divesBroad-leaved Peppermint
Eucalyptus macrorhynchaRed Stringybark
Eucalyptus manniferaBrittle Gum
Eucalyptus melliodoraYellow Box
Eucalyptus nortoniiLarge-flowered Bundy
Eucalyptus paucifloraSnow Gum/White Sally
Eucalyptus polyanthemosRed Box
Eucalyptus radiata subsp. robertsoniiNarrow-leaved Peppermint
Eucalyptus rossiiScribbly Gum
Eucalyptus rubidaCandlebark
Eucalyptus stellulataBlack Sally
Eucalyptus viminalisRibbon Gum/Manna Gum

Arrangement of the Eucalypts planted in the STEP garden
Prediction of tree heights on the section shown on the map above
Prediction of tree heights on the section shown on the map above

Back to top